Field Trip

Standard

Yesterday I went on a little field trip with the two Black & White editors to drive around Birmingham’s Westside and Westend. For those of you that won’t know anything about this area, it’s not a great one by any means, we didn’t leave the safety of our car. It was quite the eye opening experience, this part of Birmingham has been long forgotten and left to deteriorate. We drove through neighborhoods that I really, to be honest, had never been exposed to. We were doing this because as some research to find places that would be good photographic images to open the city’s eyes to what’s really going on in that side of town. It is only 10-15 min away from places I go to on a normal basis and it is a completely different world. Pretty crazy. I won’t say much about the story; you can watch for that in some of the upcoming issues of Black & White at bwcitypaper.com

And that was my field trip.

Leave a comment